Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Player of the year awards

24 April 2016

After the celebrations on the pitch on Saturday following Sutton's clinching of the Vanarama National League South championship, the party carried on in to the evening at the annual Player of the Year awards evening, where midfielder Craig Eastmond took the honours, winning the club Player of the Year award and the Andrew James Trophy for Players' Player of the Year. Sharing the spotlight from the first team was goalkeeper Ross Worner, who was voted Player of the Year by the Supporters' Club, whose chairman Mark Notton had presented him with the trophy prior to the game against Chelmsford (below). In the SUFC TV Goal of the Season award, Dan Wishart's effort at Margate a fortnight ago was just pipped by Craig Dundas's solo effort at Concord Rangers in December. Popular kitman Clive Baxter won the Barry Aplin Clubman of the Year award, while the Ralph Carr Memorial Trophy for young player of the year went to youth team striker Reyon Dillon, who impressed on his appearances in the Surrey Senior Cup, scoring on his debut at Corinthian Casuals. Reyon's captain in the youth team, Jack Strange, was the Youth Team player of the year while Jordan Watson-Brown was voted Most Improved Player for the Under 18s. There were three awards for the Academy side which went to Max Felloni (Player of the Year), Leon Dadey (Players' Player of the Year) and Sheriff Njie (most improved player). The community side, which has recently beaten Chelsea and Arsenal, scoring 21 goals in the process, were also honoured with England hopeful Harry Evans winning the Player of the Year, Joshua Taylor the Players' Player, Paul Leconte winning the Golden Boot as leading scorer, and William Stone the Clubman of the Year. Steve King, the driving force behind the community team as well as a number of other initiatives, was also presented with the inaugural Sutton United Community Award.

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets News